top of page

Supercross At Foxborough

via Feld Motor Sports Inc. HISTORY LESSON: The first 450SX Class round held in Foxborough was on July 24, 1983 at Schaefer Stadium. Suzuki's Mark Barnett waltzed into the penultimate Supercross with an 11-point lead on Honda's David Bailey in the standings.

Eli Tomac
Eli Tomas Was Dominant In St. Louis Photo Fel Motor Sports Inc.

Barnett's transmission failed in his semi-qualifier disallowing him to compete in the LCQ per antiquated rules. Bailey scored the victory and with it a 10-point lead in the Championship. It was just enough room to win the title in the finale with Barnettcoming only two points short in the final tally.

SHAEFER STADIUM: Schaefer Stadium also hosted Supercross in 1984 and 1990. David Bailey repeated in 1984 and Honda made it 3/3 in Foxborough thanks to JM Bayle in 1990. Supercross did not return to Schaefer Stadium before it was demolished and replaced by Gillette Stadium.

Fidelity Capital

THE BEST A MAN CAN GET: Supercross returned to Foxborough after 25 years away by visiting Gillette Stadium in 2016. Ken Roczen and his Suzuki scored the late-season win, but Ryan Dungey won the Championship. Marvin Musquin won Gillette in 2018 during a Championship comeback attempt that fell short to Jason Anderson. Anderson won the most recent visit to Gillette in 2022, during his own Championship comeback that Tomac would eventually win.

CHAMPIONSHIP %: 1983 is the only time the winner of Foxborough won the 450SX Class Championship. 1/3 in Schaefer Stadium and 0/3 in Gillette Stadium for 1/6 overall. 2024 will mark the seventh time the 450SX Class has visited Foxborough and fourth in Gillette Stadium.

Supercross At Foxborough


bottom of page