top of page

Friday Fun Facts: Supercross Heads To Indy

The first 450SX Class round held in Indianapolis was on March 21, 1992 in the RCA Dome, and Jeff Stanton won on a Honda. It was the ninth of 16 rounds in what was turning into an exciting title chase.

Jett Lawrence
Jett Lawrence Will Be Looking To Add His Name To The List Of Indy Winners - Photo @browndogwilson

Going into Indy, Damon Bradshaw comfortably led the Honda duo of J.M. Bayle (-16) and Stanton (-19) in the points, but disaster struck Bradshaw late in the Main Event. Running in podium position, Bradshaw landed on a lapper causing him to finish 19*. Stanton and Bayle left Indy tied for the points lead with Bradshaw in third. Stanton would eventually take the Championship by only three points over Bradshaw with his third win in the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum finale.

LUCAS OIL: The Indianapolis Supercross was held in the RCA

Dome 17 times from 1992-2008. Lucas Oil Stadium took over hosting the Indy Supercross in 2009 and has only missed one season since (2020). Indy made up for that by hosting three rounds in 2021. 2024 will be the 34* Indianapolis Supercross and 17 in Lucas Oil Stadium.

"MC"A DOME: Jeremy McGrath would win Indianapolis during his Rookie season title run in 1993 aboard a Honda. He would win Indy and the title from 1993-1996 and again in 1998 and 2000. 1999 is the only season he didn't win Indy and the title during his seven Championships in eight seasons. The Hall of Fame trio of Ricky Carmichael, James Stewart, and Chad Reed would finish out racing in the RCA Dome from 2001-2008 with victories in six of the last eight rounds. David Vuillemin and local hero/ironman Mike LaRocco each tacked on victories before the location was demolished.

Fidelity Capital

INDY'S CHAMP: The winner of the Indy Supercross has won the 450SX title in 20/31 seasons (65%). In the RCA Dome the winner of the Indy SX won the title an incredible 14/17 (82%) times. Eli Tomac won Indy and the title in 2022, but Ken Roczen did not win the title after an incredible 2023 Indy win.

indy 2024

Indy 2024

We're calling another victory for Jett. Who you got?

Two Four Speed

Stats and schedule courtesy of Feld Motor Sports Inc.

Photograph courtesy of @browndogwilson

Friday Fun Facts: Supercross Heads To Indy


bottom of page